Choice of Class

By: Shane Watson
   

Italy has always been an interesting place, and topic to me. In my opinion, it has one of the richest histories, the richest culture, and some of the most interesting historical figures. I have some Italian in me, but none of my family comes straight from Italy. I decided to take this class in order to learn not only the language, but also about the culture. Italy has played a major part in history, from Rome to World War 2, Italy has been involved. The culture of Italy is also something very impressive to me. With the Italian immigrants to the United States, we have received much of their culture, mostly regarding food. True Italian food is delicious. Throughout history, Italy has had some of the most prominent figures. Figures such as Niccolo Machiavelli, numerous popes and many heads of religion, Emperors such as Nero and Julius Caesar. 
  Italy is a very special place with a very special background and an amazing culture, and I am looking forward to learning even more about it all.

One thought on “Choice of Class

  1. judithgarcia says:

    Buona sera Shane,
    Grazie mille per il tuo interesse in Italia ed in italiano. Italy is a magnificent country and I am sure you will be pleased to have taken this course by the end of the semester. There is so much history, art, music and culture in general with origins traced back to Italy. I hope you get to visit it in the future!

Leave a Reply

