My Family

Ever since I was little I have been hearing stories about Italy from my grandfather.  My grandfather is an Italian immigrant from Sicily.  Every time I see him he has a story to tell about his time there.  Italy has always been a place of interest to me because of my grandfather.  He makes Italy out to be the greatest place on Earth, which it is in his eyes.  When he tells a story, there is always a life lesson to go along with it, such as saving your money.  Every single story he tells starts with “You know what they say…” and he would proceed to say something in Italian, and explain what it means.  I am always very intrigued by what he has to say because he makes them so interesting. 

Italy is definitely a place I would like to visit in my lifetime.  I have always wanted to learn Italian, and my grandfather has tried to teach me in the past, but it never worked out.  I was disappointed to find out my high school didn’t offer Italian, so I always said I would take it in college, so here I am.  I am very eager to learn the language as well as the culture so I can finally relate to what my grandfather is telling me.     

One thought on “My Family

  1. judithgarcia says:

    Buona sera Melissa,
    Grazie mille per il tuo post. I feel honored to offer this course because now I know that there is a personal reason for your interest in learning Italian. I would love for you to learn Italian enough to maintain a conversation with your grandpa. I know what you mean about offering life lessons in every conversation that he initiates. That’s how I feel when I listen to my parents and older relatives. Sicily is a wonderful place, believe me. One of my favorite film makers is Giuseppe Tornatore, from Sicily. Why don’t you watch my favorite film, “Cinema Paradiso”? You will get to see more of Sicily than the usual stereotyping present in another masterpiece, “The Godfather”. I also recommend you “Malena”, “The legend of 1900” and “The final offer” (the three by Tornatore). They are great movies and the soundtrack is by my favorite film composer, the Italian Ennio Morricone.

Leave a Reply

