Family Near and Far

            Being in a Italian family, I have a strong family connection. As I had said before in my blog, my mother is one of six children. And I myself am one of 15 grandchildren.

           

But I am also lucky enough to have a different part of my family. Through the foreign exchange program, which my aunt Karen is very involved with I have many “cousins” from all over the world. Many of them are from various parts of Italy and through getting to know them I have experienced and learned many things about the Italian culture and world from people who live there. These are lessons you wont find in a textbook or from an article online. A great thing about the social media age we live in is I get to keep up with them long after they go back home. We skype and facebook and I get to see Italy through an Italians eyes. 

One thought on “Family Near and Far

  1. judithgarcia says:

    Buona sera Chris,
    Thanks for sharing about the foreign exchange program. What does your aunt Karen do exactly? Is this a pen pal program? I find it quite interesting and it is a great way for you to be exposed to a foreign and rich culture. As you rightly say, you get from locals lessons in life and culture appreciation that you cannot receive from a textbook.

Leave a Reply

